In 2015, ParisTech’s “Nuclear Engineering” academic chair, supported by ORANO and FRAMATOME and held by Chimie ParisTech and ENSTA ParisTech, was renewed for a period of 4 years. It succeeds to the first AREVA Chair, created in 2009.

The Chair was created to develop and enhance the academic and development activities of Chimie ParisTech and ENSTA ParisTech at the national and international level in the field of nuclear engineering, in conjunction with ORANO and FRAMATOME.

The Chair’s strategic priorities

The main goals of the “Nuclear engineering” Chair are:

  • To develop and ensure the sustainability of high-level courses in the nuclear field by providing a balanced distribution between academic and industrial stakeholders;
  • To increase the attractiveness of nuclear professions in the long term by reinforcing the engineering courses and supporting the “Nuclear Energy” Master’s program.
  • To provide, through the network created between the parties, a multidisciplinary academic response for the implementation of nuclear energy for the production of non-carbon energy.

More specifically, the purpose of the Chair is to develop academic and research programs in the fields of chemistry, physics, mechanics and process engineering in all compartments of the nuclear industry; ore concentration, UF6 conversion, fuel fabrication, reactor design and evolution, used nuclear fuel processing, fissile material recycling and ultimate waste disposal. 

The Chair is a key player in the field of education with the support of academic programs and the financing of teacher researchers.

In particular, it supports the “Nuclear Energy, Fuel cycle engineering option” and “Nuclear plant design” Master’s programs, as well as Chimie ParisTech and ENSTA ParisTech’s specialized programs.

Holders of the Chair

  • Grégory Lefèvre, CNRS researcher, Chimie ParisTech
  • Nathalie Branger, Director of Development, ENSTA ParisTech 
  • Stéphane Sarrade, CEA